Last turn in Ticket to Ride: clarification












14















I am asking about Ticket to Ride Europe, but if possible I would prefer a generic answer.



Let's say player A claims a route and remains with 1 car. This, per rules, starts the last turn.
When it is again player A's turn, assuming all the needed cards are available, can any route be claimed, or only routes with length 1?










share|improve this question

























  • For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

    – The Chaz 2.0
    Jan 22 at 15:08
















14















I am asking about Ticket to Ride Europe, but if possible I would prefer a generic answer.



Let's say player A claims a route and remains with 1 car. This, per rules, starts the last turn.
When it is again player A's turn, assuming all the needed cards are available, can any route be claimed, or only routes with length 1?










share|improve this question

























  • For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

    – The Chaz 2.0
    Jan 22 at 15:08














14












14








14








I am asking about Ticket to Ride Europe, but if possible I would prefer a generic answer.



Let's say player A claims a route and remains with 1 car. This, per rules, starts the last turn.
When it is again player A's turn, assuming all the needed cards are available, can any route be claimed, or only routes with length 1?










share|improve this question
















I am asking about Ticket to Ride Europe, but if possible I would prefer a generic answer.



Let's say player A claims a route and remains with 1 car. This, per rules, starts the last turn.
When it is again player A's turn, assuming all the needed cards are available, can any route be claimed, or only routes with length 1?







ticket-to-ride ticket-to-ride-europe






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited Jan 21 at 11:52









Toon Krijthe

6,78843548




6,78843548










asked Jan 21 at 7:01









BeatlesBeatles

713




713













  • For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

    – The Chaz 2.0
    Jan 22 at 15:08



















  • For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

    – The Chaz 2.0
    Jan 22 at 15:08

















For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

– The Chaz 2.0
Jan 22 at 15:08





For what it's worth, the app will not let you do this (ie you can't place more train cars than you physically have).

– The Chaz 2.0
Jan 22 at 15:08










2 Answers
2






active

oldest

votes


















23














He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.



By the rules:




Game End



When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores.




There is no mention of different rules for the last turns so normal rule apply.






share|improve this answer



















  • 5





    You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:51






  • 1





    So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

    – Lars Kristensen
    Jan 21 at 10:57






  • 1





    It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:59






  • 1





    @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

    – Yakk
    Jan 21 at 17:40






  • 1





    The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

    – chrylis
    Jan 21 at 19:21



















11














This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left).




Claim a Route - The player claims a route on the board by playing a set of Train
cards from his hand that match the color and quantity of the spaces that make up
the route. He places one of his colored trains on each space, and scores the number
of points indicated on the Route Scoring Table for that route’s length;




(link to Ticket to Ride Europe rules; other versions are similarly worded)






share|improve this answer























    Your Answer








    StackExchange.ready(function() {
    var channelOptions = {
    tags: "".split(" "),
    id: "147"
    };
    initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

    StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function() {
    // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
    if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled) {
    StackExchange.using("snippets", function() {
    createEditor();
    });
    }
    else {
    createEditor();
    }
    });

    function createEditor() {
    StackExchange.prepareEditor({
    heartbeatType: 'answer',
    autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
    convertImagesToLinks: false,
    noModals: true,
    showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
    reputationToPostImages: null,
    bindNavPrevention: true,
    postfix: "",
    imageUploader: {
    brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
    contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
    allowUrls: true
    },
    noCode: true, onDemand: true,
    discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
    ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
    });


    }
    });














    draft saved

    draft discarded


















    StackExchange.ready(
    function () {
    StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f44829%2flast-turn-in-ticket-to-ride-clarification%23new-answer', 'question_page');
    }
    );

    Post as a guest















    Required, but never shown

























    2 Answers
    2






    active

    oldest

    votes








    2 Answers
    2






    active

    oldest

    votes









    active

    oldest

    votes






    active

    oldest

    votes









    23














    He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
    You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.



    By the rules:




    Game End



    When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
    one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores.




    There is no mention of different rules for the last turns so normal rule apply.






    share|improve this answer



















    • 5





      You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:51






    • 1





      So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

      – Lars Kristensen
      Jan 21 at 10:57






    • 1





      It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:59






    • 1





      @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

      – Yakk
      Jan 21 at 17:40






    • 1





      The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

      – chrylis
      Jan 21 at 19:21
















    23














    He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
    You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.



    By the rules:




    Game End



    When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
    one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores.




    There is no mention of different rules for the last turns so normal rule apply.






    share|improve this answer



















    • 5





      You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:51






    • 1





      So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

      – Lars Kristensen
      Jan 21 at 10:57






    • 1





      It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:59






    • 1





      @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

      – Yakk
      Jan 21 at 17:40






    • 1





      The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

      – chrylis
      Jan 21 at 19:21














    23












    23








    23







    He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
    You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.



    By the rules:




    Game End



    When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
    one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores.




    There is no mention of different rules for the last turns so normal rule apply.






    share|improve this answer













    He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
    You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.



    By the rules:




    Game End



    When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
    one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores.




    There is no mention of different rules for the last turns so normal rule apply.







    share|improve this answer












    share|improve this answer



    share|improve this answer










    answered Jan 21 at 7:40









    Toon KrijtheToon Krijthe

    6,78843548




    6,78843548








    • 5





      You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:51






    • 1





      So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

      – Lars Kristensen
      Jan 21 at 10:57






    • 1





      It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:59






    • 1





      @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

      – Yakk
      Jan 21 at 17:40






    • 1





      The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

      – chrylis
      Jan 21 at 19:21














    • 5





      You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:51






    • 1





      So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

      – Lars Kristensen
      Jan 21 at 10:57






    • 1





      It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

      – Toon Krijthe
      Jan 21 at 10:59






    • 1





      @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

      – Yakk
      Jan 21 at 17:40






    • 1





      The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

      – chrylis
      Jan 21 at 19:21








    5




    5





    You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:51





    You are not required to claim a route. You can even draw new cards. But you can't use them anymore. But the wisest move to do is claim the highest valued route you can.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:51




    1




    1





    So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

    – Lars Kristensen
    Jan 21 at 10:57





    So Player A is required to use their final turn, but if they can't claim a route, they can simply draw (unusable) train cards, or gamble and draw route cards to see if they match any routes already claimed, correct?

    – Lars Kristensen
    Jan 21 at 10:57




    1




    1





    It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:59





    It is not explicit in the rules. They say they each have a last turn. Any you can do any of the three actions in a turn.

    – Toon Krijthe
    Jan 21 at 10:59




    1




    1





    @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

    – Yakk
    Jan 21 at 17:40





    @LarsKristensen On their 2nd to last turn, they played trains (otherwise, how did they go down to 0, 1 or 2 trains). You can only play 1 set of trains per turn. So if they are playing tactically, they could have the cards for another route and the trains as well they "held back" for their last turn.

    – Yakk
    Jan 21 at 17:40




    1




    1





    The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

    – chrylis
    Jan 21 at 19:21





    The official online game requires a normal last turn for the last player, and drawing cards is the standard "do nothing" way to end the game.

    – chrylis
    Jan 21 at 19:21











    11














    This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left).




    Claim a Route - The player claims a route on the board by playing a set of Train
    cards from his hand that match the color and quantity of the spaces that make up
    the route. He places one of his colored trains on each space, and scores the number
    of points indicated on the Route Scoring Table for that route’s length;




    (link to Ticket to Ride Europe rules; other versions are similarly worded)






    share|improve this answer




























      11














      This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left).




      Claim a Route - The player claims a route on the board by playing a set of Train
      cards from his hand that match the color and quantity of the spaces that make up
      the route. He places one of his colored trains on each space, and scores the number
      of points indicated on the Route Scoring Table for that route’s length;




      (link to Ticket to Ride Europe rules; other versions are similarly worded)






      share|improve this answer


























        11












        11








        11







        This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left).




        Claim a Route - The player claims a route on the board by playing a set of Train
        cards from his hand that match the color and quantity of the spaces that make up
        the route. He places one of his colored trains on each space, and scores the number
        of points indicated on the Route Scoring Table for that route’s length;




        (link to Ticket to Ride Europe rules; other versions are similarly worded)






        share|improve this answer













        This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left).




        Claim a Route - The player claims a route on the board by playing a set of Train
        cards from his hand that match the color and quantity of the spaces that make up
        the route. He places one of his colored trains on each space, and scores the number
        of points indicated on the Route Scoring Table for that route’s length;




        (link to Ticket to Ride Europe rules; other versions are similarly worded)







        share|improve this answer












        share|improve this answer



        share|improve this answer










        answered Jan 21 at 7:40









        GlorfindelGlorfindel

        5,02611339




        5,02611339






























            draft saved

            draft discarded




















































            Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!


            • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

            But avoid



            • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

            • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.


            To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




            draft saved


            draft discarded














            StackExchange.ready(
            function () {
            StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f44829%2flast-turn-in-ticket-to-ride-clarification%23new-answer', 'question_page');
            }
            );

            Post as a guest















            Required, but never shown





















































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown

































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown







            Popular posts from this blog

            MongoDB - Not Authorized To Execute Command

            How to fix TextFormField cause rebuild widget in Flutter

            in spring boot 2.1 many test slices are not allowed anymore due to multiple @BootstrapWith